Vladimir Milivojevich ‘Boogie’

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Vladimir Milivojevich

 

“Born and raised in Belgrade, Serbia, Boogie started photographing rebellion and unrest during the civil war that ravaged his country during the 1990s. Growing up in a war-torn country defined Boogie’s style and attraction to the darker side of human existence. He moved to New York City in 1998.”

 

What I like about Boogie’s work is that he portrays the reality of society in a very raw way, the image for the homeless woman for example. In this image you can see a homeless individual, looking scruffy and wrapped up in a dirty blanket. Boogie has also captured this subject within the centre of the image and without any interference of another subject or other elements, making her appear isolated and alone. Boogie has the ability to portray the harsher side of reality.

 

However, for some of his other images Boogie is able to present this reality with a more satirical approach. You can see this sort of approach in the image with a mattress. On a dirty, abandoned mattress someone has written, “I dream of love”. Although this image does have a sense of humour about it, you can also see a more dramatic or sad side to the image as it’s a strong metaphor, expressing a more humorous side about the image makes the deeper message more presentable to anyone viewing it.

 

I will be using Boogie as my main influence for my second shoot, this is because his work is very documentary photography based which is the same style I am using within my project. Also, I like the gritty style he presents throughout his images and this is something I’d like to try incorporate within the shoot. For my second shoot I am going to a students climate change protest, where students and adults will be striking to protest against the destruction of our environment. Although the fact that these people are coming together and fighting to spread an important message is a positive thing, the underlying message itself is rather negative so I will be editing a lot of the images in black and white to express a more dramatic effect.

[11] https://thehundreds.uk/blogs/content/boogie-a-wah-do-dem?country=GB

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star